Categories Menu

Baptisms & Weddings

The  Church understands there to be Seven Sacraments given by God.  A Sacrament is “an outward sign of an invisible grace, given by God as a sure and certain means whereby we receive that grace.” The Seven Sacraments are: Baptism, Eucharist, Confirmation, Absolution, Holy Unction, Holy Matrimony and Holy Orders (Ordination).   The Church recognizes two of these sacraments, Baptism and Holy Eucharist, as being the most important and necessary for all Christians.  

Baptisms at Holy Cross

Baptism of Christ

The Rector is always happy to talk anyone about the Sacrament of Holy Baptism.  Baptisms are administered at Holy Cross in the context of the Holy Eucharist on The Sunday after Epiphany: The Baptism of the Lord (January), the Easter Vigil (March/April) , the Feast of Pentecost (May), The Sunday after the Feast of the Transfiguration (August), and All Saints Sunday (November).  Private baptism will allowed by the Rector only if the circumstances require.  Public Baptism in the presence of the Christian Community is normative.  Baptism, while indeed a special day for the one baptized and their family, is also a special day for the whole Christian Community. The one baptized is baptized into the Body of Christ.  Therefore, doing the ceremony apart from the body of Christ is theologically incoherent with the Sacrament and its full meaning.

Weddings at Holy Cross

The Rector is always willing to talk to couples who wish to be married at Holy Cross regardless of membership status.  The couple should, however, be active in some Christian Community or be willing to become active in a Christian Community.  Christian Marriage is not something which is undertaken alone: it requires the love and support of a faithful community of believers.