Categories Menu

Baptisms & Weddings

The Church understands there to be Seven Sacraments given by God. A Sacrament is “an outward sign of an invisible grace” (St. Augustine) given by God as a sure and certain means whereby we receive that grace. The Seven Sacraments are: Baptism, Eucharist, Confirmation, Absolution, Holy Unction (Anointing), Holy Matrimony and Holy Orders (Ordination).  The Church recognizes two of these sacraments, Baptism and Holy Eucharist, as being essential for all Christians; the other five, however, are also important ways to receive God’s grace. 

Baptisms at Holy Cross

Baptism of Christ

The Rector is always happy to talk anyone about the Sacrament of Holy Baptism. Baptisms are administered at Holy Cross in the context of the Holy Eucharist on The Sunday after Epiphany: The Baptism of the Lord (January), the Easter Vigil (March/April), the Feast of Pentecost (May), The Sunday after the Feast of the Transfiguration (August), All Saints Sunday (November), and other Sundays under special circumstances. Private baptism will be administered only if the circumstances require. Public Baptism in the presence of the Christian Community is normative.  Baptism, while indeed a special day for the one baptized and their family, is also a special day for the whole Christian Community. The one baptized is baptized into the Body of Christ.  Therefore, doing the ceremony apart from the body of Christ is theologically incoherent with the Sacrament and its full meaning.

Weddings at Holy Cross

Holy Cross is a beautiful venue in which to be married. The Rector is always happy to talk to couples desiring to be married at Holy Cross regardless of membership status.